History of the University

The University of Limerick was established in 1972 as the National Institute for Higher Education, Limerick. The campus is located along the River Shannon, on an 800 acre site, located three miles from Limerick city center.

It received its university status by statute in 1989, making it Ireland’s first new university since 1922. Today, the university has a population of over 13,000 undergraduate and postgraduate students.

About The Medical School

The University of Limerick, School of Medicine was built in conjunction with the Irish government to serve the medical needs of the growing population of Ireland. The school’s inaugural medical class began in September 2007.

University of Limerick’s medical degree is four years in length. The program is arranged entirely as a graduate-entry program, meaning that all admitted students already have an undergraduate degree prior to starting medical school.

The curriculum was designed using the best evidence-based practices for modern medical education and is built around Problem-Based Learning (PBL).

The first two years build the foundation of medical knowledge in areas such as physiology and anatomy through small group PBL clinical cases. Coursework is supplemented by interactive lectures and clinical skill development.

The third and fourth years continue training in the clinical setting. Through supervised and mentored training in hospital and outpatient settings, students learn the hands-on medical understanding and decision making capacity needed for independent practice. The clinical training is accompanied by concurrent modules in social, behavioral, ethical and legal aspects of medicine.

Upon graduation, the BM BS (Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery) degrees are awarded.

View Brochure

Entry Requirements

FOUR-YEAR PROGRAM: An undergraduate degree (minimum second class honours, grade one) in your first honours bachelor degree (NFQ Level 8) and MCAT* or GAMSAT **are required. The MCAT/GAMSAT can be written as late as April of the year of entry and an undergraduate degree must be awarded by August of the year of entry. Additionally, an in person interview is also required. Interviews are conducted in North America in April and May annually (Vancouver and Toronto sessions

MCAT must have been written within three years. e.g. test dates no earlier than 2021 for 2024 entry. Minimum score of 500.

GAMSAT must have been written within two years. e.g. test dates no earlier than 2022 for 2024 entry. Minimum score of 58.

Atlantic Bridge will provide specific guidance on your eligibility based on the information you submit on your Application Request Form.

University of Limerick - Medicine Program Overview

Teaching Hospitals

Midlands Regional Hospital – Tullamore

Medical students at the University of Limerick rotate through a range of available general and specialist teaching hospitals throughout their training. These hospitals include:

  1. Midlands Regional Hospital, Mullingar
  2. Midlands Regional Hospital, Tullamore
  3. Mid-Western Orthopaedic Hospital, Croom
  4. Mid-Western Regional Hospital, Ennis, Co. Clare
  5. Mid-Western Regional Hospital, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary
  6. St. John’s Hospital, Limerick
  7. St. Luke’s Hospital, Kilkenny
  8. South Tipperary General Hospital, Clonmel
  9. University Maternity Hospital, Limerick

Applications are now closed for Fall 2024 Entry.

We use cookies on our website to give you the most relevant experience by remembering your preferences and repeat visits. By clicking “Accept”, you consent to the use of ALL the cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.