National University of Ireland, Galway – Medicine

National University of Ireland, Galway

History of the University

The college was established in 1849 as Queen’s College, Galway. The Medical School was one of the original faculties when the college was founded. The campus is located near the city center of Galway City, nestled along the River Corrib on the western coast of Ireland.The Irish Universities Act in 1908 changed the name to University College, Galway. In 1997, the name was updated to National University of Ireland, Galway. The university grew during the more than 150 years since it was founded and now serves a population of over 15,000 students. Expansion is currently continuing, especially among medical facilities, with a recently completed Medical Education Centre, Human Biology Building, and Clinical Research Centre.

About the School of Medicine

There is a five and a six year medical degree program. Clinical contact with patients is introduced at an early stage, but in the initial years the emphasis is on the basic sciences (Human Biology, Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Pharmacology) and cognitive sciences (Psychology, Behavioral Sciences, Medical Informatics, Ethics, Health Promotion) which together provide a basis for understanding modern healthcare delivery.

In the latter years of the program, the emphasis is on the acquisition of knowledge and skills of immediate relevance to professional practice. Teaching in this phase includes Clinical Laboratory Sciences, Public Health, and the Principles and Practice of the major Clinical Disciplines. Through bedside teaching, one-on-one mentor-ship, the clinical skills laboratory, and small group tutorials, students are guided to learn the following skills: taking a patient history, conducting an examination, selecting appropriate investigations, interpreting findings and formulating plans of patient care. As they gain experience, they assume greater responsibility through rotations in affiliated hospitals and in community practices.

In addition to teaching and the provision of medical care, all departments are engaged in research, often as interdisciplinary collaboration between University and Hospital.

Entry Requirements

SIX-YEAR PROGRAM:   These courses are designed for students entering directly from high school and for high school graduates who have also taken college/university level courses but who will not have earned a bachelor’s degree by the September entry.

FIVE-YEAR PROGRAM: There are two pathways of entry to the Five-Year Program.

    1. Students entering directly from high school with IB Examinations and/or high school graduates who have also taken college/university level courses but who will not have earned a bachelor’s degree by September of the year of entry.
    2.  Applicants applying with a bachelor’s degree (MCAT not required).

Atlantic Bridge will provide specific guidance on your eligibility based on the information you submit on your Application Request Form.

The Teaching Hospitals

Merlin Park Hosptial, National University in Galway
Merlin Park Hosptial, National University Ireland, Galway

The main teaching hospital of the Medical School is University College Hospital Galway, a 500-bed referral and tertiary-level hospital. UCHG is located immediately adjacent to the main university campus, facilitating the integration of clinical and basic teaching.

Merlin Park Hospital, also located in Galway City, is the second designated teaching hospital. Eight additional affiliated hospitals throughout the region are linked to the Galway Medical School.

In all, these ten hospitals affiliated with the Medical School draw on a catchment area with a population of approximately one million people. The hospital departments encompass all of the important clinical and laboratory disciplines, including:

Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Radiology, General Practice, the Sub-specialties, the Clinical Laboratory Departments and the Specialist Diagnostic Units.

Student Stories